Support Us

SOS – Help us fight the NHS cuts

#CVSSOS – let’s keep up the pressure!

To everyone who completed our survey, came to a focus group or wrote to us about how the cuts would affect them – thank you!  This has helped us make the best possible case in our response to the NHS Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG). You can read what we sent to them here.

There is more you can do.  A final decision will be made by NHS bosses later this month so please help us keep the pressure up. Suggestions (and addresses) below.


Write a letter or send an email to  the Chief Executive of NHS Derbyshire Clinical Commissioning Groups

  • Saying which South Derbyshire CVS services you use or are concerned about, and
  • Telling him in your own words what impact the cuts would have on you, your family or your service users
  • If you want to send a copy of our survey report or refer/link to it in your letter, it’s here:

You could also send a copy, or write a similar letter, to:-

  • Our local MP Heather Wheeler
  • Your local County Councillor (Derbyshire County Council’s Leader has expressed concern about the cuts asked for a meeting with Dr Clayton so it will help their case if your councillors knows if you will be affected)
  • Local media – urging them to support our campaign
  • Social media – like/follow /share/retweet about the campaign on Twitter @CVSSouthDerbys #CVSSOS and Facebook

If you need help to write your letter or aren’t sure what to say please get in touch on 01283 219761 or

Send us a copy – it helps us to know what you’ve said (and your support cheers us up!)  Email or post a copy to SDCVS, 46-48 Grove Street, Swadlincote DE11 9DD

Come and join us at the CCG Board meeting on Friday 17 August

This is the meeting where the decision will be made –it’s open to the public.
1.00 – 2.30pm at Coney Green Business Centre, Wingfield View, Clay Cross S45 9JW



Dr Chris Clayton, Chief Executive Officer

NHS Derbyshire Clinical Commissioning Groups
Cardinal Square, 1st Floor, North Point, 10 Nottingham Road Derby DE1 3QT


Heather Wheeler MP
Room 1/24, Repton House, Bretby Business Park, Bretby, Derbyshire, DE15 0YZ

01283 225365 /


A list of our County Councillors, and the electoral division they represent, is below.

You can find their home address on Derbyshire County Council website
or write to them at Derbyshire County Council, County Hall, Matlock, DE4 3AG

 Aston (Aston on Trent, Weston on Trent, Barrow Upon Trent and Stenson Fields)
Cllr Neil Atkin

Etwall & Repton (Etwall, Egginton, Repton, Willington and Findern)
Cllr Martyn Ford

Hilton (Hilton, Hatton and Church Broughton)
Cllr Julie Patten

Linton (Walton on Trent, Netherseal, Overseal, Linton and Coton in the Elms)
Cllr Pat Murray

Melbourne (Melbourne, Ticknall, Hartshorne, Bretby, Smisby, Newton Solney and Stanton by Bridge)
Linda Chilton

Swadlincote Central (Swadlincote, Midway and Woodville)
Gary Musson

Swadlincote North (Oversetts, Newhall and Upper Midway)
Sean Bambrick

Swadlincote South (South Swadlincote and Church Gresley)
Stuart Swann


Burton Mail
Emma Turton, Editor
The Burton Mail, Milton House, Worthington Way, Burton-on-Trent, DE14 1BQ
01283 245000 /

Derby Telegraph
Derbyshire Live, 2 Siddals Road, Derby DE1 2PB
01332 411999 /

BBC Radio Derby
56 St Helen’s Street, Derby DE1 3H
Kelly Smith (South Derbyshire & East Staffordshire)
01283 517563 /